Tough days, a year ago…

11 04 2011

I had a couple of tough days after leaving Kim’s place in Durango. I actually rode 68 miles toward Pagosa Springs on the 10th; my longest ride ever. I was really proud of myself for this. There was a great deal more climbing than I had expected, but I also had a couple of long, free-wheel descents – finally – which made parts of the ride seem much shorter.

Waking to snow above me in Pagosa Springs, CO, April 11, 2010.

As you can hear from my tone of voice in the first audio post from the 11th, I was feeling very sceptical of my ability to continue, much less finish, The Ride. I was looking at some huge climbs ahead of me, plus many miles of level ground as well. I’d been wakened by the very cold temperatures overnight in Pagosa, so was not well rested, and wound up feeling overhwlemed by the challenge ahead of me.

Leaving Durango, and Kim's place, April 10, 2010.

April 11, 2010…

iPadio Audio Post…

Visit http://ipad.io/IP3 to hear my latest ipadio phonecast

However, later in the evening, as a result of the kindness of strangers, I was feeling much better. I was suddenly in Salida, CO, a beautiful little town about a hundred miles southwest of Denver, with a room for the night, a hot shower behind me, and food in my belly. I’d only ridden 35 miles that day, but with two rides from strangers, one over 10, 550 foot Wolfe Creek pass, I felt as if I’d been delivered to heaven. To Joe and Jesse, my guardian angels on this day, Thank You, you have no idea how much I appreciate what you did for me.

April 11, 2010…

2nd iPadio Audio Post

Visit http://ipad.io/IQa to hear my latest ipadio phonecast

Later


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply, Question, or Comment here.