Bicycle poetry and motion…

5 04 2011

Please, one and all, do yourself a favor and read this, http://ridebikesdrinkcoffee.blogspot.com/. It is a wonderful post from my online friend and fellow cyclist Kelly Carlisle, at Ride Bikes, Drink Coffee.

Later





Pedaling 140 miles in 3 days, a year ago…

5 04 2011

I did a lot of miles from April 3-5 last year, pedaling 140 miles across the Reservation in northern Arizona, much of it in howling winds of 40-60 mph, and a major dust storm as well.

The wind during this portion of the trip was some of the worst I’ve ever experienced; which is saying something, having lived in Colorado and Arizona for a total of 28 years now. The dust storm on my third day on the Res however, was truly amazing. The dust rose 12,000 feet into the air above me and, because it was at my back, I flew eastward along the highway. Until, that is, the road bent a bit south and the wind shifted a bit east, then I was riding for my life, constantly leaning to my right at about 20 degrees, trying desperately to stay on the shoulder instead of being blown into traffic. 

After 12-15 miles of this struggle, I gave in and stuck out my thumb, hitching a ride into New Mexico, which might have literally saved my life. Have I said this ride was adventurous? At times, it truly was.

April 4, 2010…

Miles and miles of miles and miles…

I did the whole climb

Cycling across the Reservation in northern Arizona, April 2010.

Here are a couple of my audio posts from that adventurous portion of the ride. Wow, the memories are so powerful…

April 5, 2010…

iPadio audio post from Bloomfield, NM… 

Visit http://ipad.io/IBZ to hear my latest ipadio phonecast

April 6, 2010…

iPadio audio post from Bloomfield, NM… 

Visit http://ipad.io/ICz to hear my latest ipadio phonecast